Araújo Becomes Two-Time BSOP Winner After Taking Down 2023 Brasilia ME

Araújo Becomes Two-Time BSOP Winner After Taking Down 2023 Brasilia ME June 14, 2023 Mario Alfonsi
by Mario Alfonsi  |  Published on Jun 14, 2023  |  Updated on Jun 14, 2023

Fernando AraújoSummary:

  • The Brazilian poker pro won the 2023 BSOP Brasilia Main Event for BRL 305,100
  • He becomes just the second player to win a BSOP title twice
  • The next BSOP stop takes place in Sau Paulo in July

The PokerStars-hosted 2023 Brazilian Series of Poker (BSOP) Brasilia stop has finally come to an end, with Fernando Araújo emerging as the biggest winner of the series after claiming the BSOP Brasilia Main Event title.

It was a back-to-back victory for the Brazilian poker pro who won the same event in 2020.

Final Table Results

Araújo entered the final table as the chip leader and managed to maintain his dominance throughout the final action. Among the players who reached the final table out of 685 entries were Thomas Reith (9th, BRL 24,200), Marcus Santos (8th, BRL 30,450), Marcelo Giordano (7th, BRL 44,600), Felipe Pantoja (6th, BRL 61,700), Leonardo Pires (5th, BRL 80,400) and Misael Becker (4th, BRL 101,000).

The only woman to make it to the final table, Carol Dapousa, put up an impressive performance, finishing 3rd for BRL 133,500. Her elimination set the heads-up action between Araújo and Roberto Garcia who also made a strong showing despite being among the shorter stacks when the final action began.

The poker tournament was meant for Araújo as he quickly demolished Garcia during heads-up play to take home the top prize of BRL 305,100, with his opponent walking away with BRL 186,700 as runner-up.


With his latest win, Araújo went down in history as just the second player to win a BSOP title twice, with the first being Saulo Sabioni. Araújo took down the 2020 BSOP Brasilia Main Event, topping 758 entries, for BRL 300,000.

BSOP Brasilia was launched in 2008 with Thiago Boita winning the inaugural BSOP Brasilia Main Event for BRL 30,000. The stop did not return until 2014 and that year’s Main Event was taken down by Thiago Rachadel for BRL 287,000. Among other Main Event winners at BSOP Brasilia were Norson Saho (2015, BRL 357,500) and Marcelo Horta (2018, BRL 293,140)

This year marks the sixth time that BSOP has visited Brasilia. The Main Event has always been well-attended, with the largest field of 1,136 recorded in 2018. The series took a two-year break in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

More BSOP Stops for 2023

The BSOP has three more events scheduled for this year. It heads to Sau Paulo for the BRL 12 million-guaranteed Winter Millions which runs from July 19-26. The next stop will be in Foz do Iguaçu (October 5-10), followed by the BSOP Millions in Sau Paulo (November 15-29).

Hi Poker Enthusiasts.. My name is Mario, and I have been around the poker scene for the last 15 years, and is a dear passion of mine. I will be bringing you the best the poker world can offer in terms of news and offers