Triton Poker SHR Makes First Stop At Jeju, South Korea In February

Triton Poker SHR Makes First Stop At Jeju, South Korea In February January 30, 2020 Mario Alfonsi
by Mario Alfonsi  |  Published on Jan 30, 2020  |  Updated on Jan 30, 2020

Triton PokerThe Triton Poker Super High Roller is set to return to Jeju, South Korea for its first major stop this 2020. This is the third consecutive year that the popular Triton Poker series is starting out in South Korea.

The festival will feature a total of 12 events, with buy-ins ranging from HK$250,000 to HK$1,000,000. It is expected to once again attract some of the world’s best poker pros who are into nosebleed action. A few of these players might even be willing to invest a whopping HK$5,850,000 (or approximately US$752,000) to take part in all of the events on the schedule, for a shot at massive guarantees.

Triton Jeju 2020 – More Details

The schedule features different variants of no-limit Hold’em, including the hugely popular Short Deck, which has taken the poker world by storm over the past few years. There are two huge Main Events on the schedule, each carrying buy-in of $1,000,000. The first takes place on Feb 14-16, while the other one will be a Short Deck affair taking place towards the end of the festival on Feb 20-22.

Triton Poker


The first-ever $1,000,000 Triton Jeju Main Event was taken down by Jason Koon back in March 2018. A heads-up deal saw the American poker pro walk away with an astonishing HK$7,640,160 (US$973,306) in first-place winnings, with the larger chunk of the prize going to the UK’s Stephen Chidwick who took home HK$8,859,840 (US$1,128,685).

Last year, it was Timofey Kuznetsov who captured the Jeju Short Deck Main Event, winning HK$14,600,000 (US$1,859,970) after outclassing a 23-entry field.

Apart from the Main Event, players can also take a shot at 8-handed, 6-handed, and Turbo events filling the schedule. Right after the end of the second Main Event on Feb 22, an extra Short Deck Ante-Only Turbo will take place, featuring a buy-in of HK$300,000.

Previous Winners

Over the two previous editions of the festival, 11 different players emerged victorious across 12 tournaments, with only Jason Koon securing more than one title. Previous champions include David Peters, Nick Shulman, Nikita Bodyakovskiy, Christopher Soyza, Devan Tang, Seng Leow, Kenneth Kee Wee Kiang and Justin Bonomo.

Bodyakovskiy was able to take home the largest top prize worth HK$41,250,000 (US$5,257,027), when he triumphed in the HK$2,000,000 NLHE Main Event in 2018.

The 2020 stop is poised to become the biggest and richest Jeju stop yet. The action takes place on February 10-22 at the Landing Casino – Jeju Shinhwa World, the largest casino on Jeju Island.

Hi Poker Enthusiasts.. My name is Mario, and I have been around the poker scene for the last 15 years, and is a dear passion of mine. I will be bringing you the best the poker world can offer in terms of news and offers